Cheese grits! The spot they do hit

I decided to make cheese grits today after all. I looked online for recipes but decided to improvise. They’re good enough to scarf. A little wet on the bottom from the chile and onion. Might use five or six eggs next time.

Baked cheese grits

Finally, out the oven to go into my belly.

If you’ve never had cheese grits before: they’re heavenly. If you like macaroni and cheese, you’ll like these. It’s a casserole of everything I love (the eggs, not so much, but they’re hidden). I grew up on grits. My father’s family is from the South. Grits were fed to me as a baby, and I still love them.

I’m sure you can substitute polenta if you want to. If you do, lemme know how it turns out.

Baked Garlic Cheese Grits with Sausage, Onions and Chile Recipe (consider this recipe still being tested. It’s kinda wet on the bottom, but still delicious)

  • 6 cups broth (I really used one quart vegetable broth and 2 cups water, because I had a quart package of broth that needed to be used soon)
  • 1-1/2 cups grits (I can only find instant in this town, so that’s what I used. I assume you’ll use real grits if you can find ’em. DC is the only place I’ve lived where I’ve been able to buy real grits, but they’re below the Mason Dixon line, so there you go)
  • Approximately 10 oz cheddar cheese, grated (this was what I had in one baby loaf that was already opened. I am a person who keeps baby loaves of cheese at the ready, just in case I feel like making enchiladas)
  • 1 one-pound package ground sausage (I used Jimmy Dean sage sausage)
  • 1 onion
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 cup 2% milk (or you could use 2 cups half and half instead of these two things)
  • 1 can roasted green chile
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed or minced (adjust to taste)
  • 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (adjust to taste)
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground mustard (don’t substitute prepared mustard if there is vinegar in the shit. It’ll make your eggs curdle like no one’s business, and all your work and ingredients will be for naught. It’s really sad making)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (preferably freshly ground. It really tastes stronger)
Spices for cheese grits.

Starting clockwise from top: garlic, white pepper, nutmeg, mustard and cayenne pepper.

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Fry the sausage. You may need to put a little oil in the bottom of the pan if it is very lean (mine was). Fry the onion. I fry them separately to make sure the sausage is cooked, but I won’t micromanage your process. Spread the sausage and onion on the bottom of a greased casserole pan. Mine was a little smaller than a nine-inch by thirteen-inch pan. That’s why they took longer than an hour to cook. Nine by thirteen would be better. Drain your canned chile well, then spread it over the sausage. Oh yeah, this is gonna be good.

Boil the broth with the garlic. Cook grits in broth according to directions. I use a whisk instead of a spoon to ensure there are no lumps. Before the grits are done, add spices to grits. Stir all but one half cup cheese into the grits.

Sausage and onion

Spread 'em out evenly, so you get even bites of both sausage and onion throughout.

Beat the eggs until light-colored. Add the milk and cream (or half and half, if substituting it) to the eggs. Heat up your eggs by adding a little of the hot grits to them (a tablespoon or so) and whisking the eggs for a minute. Do this again and again until the eggs reach room temperature. Then add them slowly to the grits. (You heat them up so as not to cook them scrambled when you add them to the grits. Forgive me if you know this already.)

Poor the grits over the sausage in the pan. Sprinkle the grits with the remaining cheese. Put in the oven.

It took mine about an hour and a half to cook. You’ll know they’re done when they’re bubbly, puffy, browned, and a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

Raw cheese grits

This is the pan ready to go into the oven. Hurry up!

It’s important they’re cooked all the way. You don’t want salmonella. Raw eggs in there. That shit’s ill. You can tell they’re not done when you shake the pan and it jiggles a lot.

Successful? Yes. But needs work. I think more eggs. The chile needs to be drained more. But I’ve just had thirds and am considering fourths, which will give me nightmares. I don’t give a fuck.

One comment

  1. Seer McRicketts-McGee

    I just realized the title may not make sense to all my readership (all twelve of you–actually, there may be more, but my stats say no). “That hit the spot,” is an American idiom for “That shit is delicious.” No, the explanation doesn’t really make it clever. I just wanted to rhyme, and in doing so, made sort of a Dad-humor joke. Tant pis for me.

Leave a Reply

