Finished the Spiderman blanket; no arrests, injuries

I have finally finished this motherfucking blanket. It’s about six feet in diameter. It has definitely picked up an odor (damn you, acrylic yarn!). Nothing some Downy won’t fix. I think I need to take it on a world tour now so everyone who I know who’s seen me knit it can see it in the flesh.

Spiderman blanket

This was supposed to be a baby blanket.

It was supposed to be a baby blanket, but I just kept knitting until I ran out of yarn. So it’s six feet or so. Jesus.

I said mine didn’t really look like what it was while it was on the needles. I wasn’t lying.

spiderman blanket on the needle

Spiderman blanket on the needle.

People kept asking me what it was and playing the annoying game of guessing what I was making. It did look like a Rasta hat for a giant. It didn’t help that I had 28 markers, 14 for the increases and 14 for the decreases, and they were different colors. I’ve never in my life used ready-made markers. I’ve always made my own out of yarn. That’s how I was taught. The increases end up with black yarn crocheted down between them to make the rays for the web.

Spiderman blanket close up

Decent knitting. The crochet could be better.

I’m not too pleased with the crochet, but I didn’t care enough to do it again. My knitting is far superior to my crochet. The knitting itself is decent, but not great. I did a lot of it in the dark. I’m happy with the paired increases; I remembered to do them in opposite directions. You can kind of see it in the above picture. I did mess up quite a bit, but whatevs. Quite a few cultures put mistakes in on purpose because only god(s) can do things perfectly. So I can pull a Pee Wee Herman and be all, “I meant to do that.”

Backside of the spiderman blanket

Look at how neatly those ends are woven in!

I’m quite pleased with how I wove the ends in. I used this technique that allows you to weave the ends in while you are knitting. That’s right; you don’t have to go back and weave them in after you’re done. See how neatly they’re in there? No knots! I weave them in for a long time, because I want it to be a really tight join (baby blanket = rough use). So the backside of the blanket is actually pretty attractive.

Spiderman blanket border

It doesn't show well, but that's applied i-cord.

I am also pleased I took the time to put on an applied i-cord border. It’s nice and cuddly and squishy and it looks really good. I love i-cord borders for blankets. Kind of wish I hadn’t abutted a purl row of black with the blue, but no use crying over spilled milk now.

Spiderman blanket feet

Really, this blanket is gargantuan.

It goes from my neck to my feet. It really is huge.

It’s a present for someone whose baby was born in October. Of last year. I meant to have it to her by October! Sheesh, Seer. I also meant it to be just a little over crib size, but now it’ll be perfect for his first bed. She has no idea that I have this for her. It’ll be a huge surprise, given that the baby is over eight months old now.

Someone else I know wants one of these for herself. She’s just going to have to wait awhile. I can’t stand looking at red and blue yarn again just yet.

Pattern available here. It’s free. It isn’t hard. But blankets can get a little tedious, especially when they get a bit big. Don’t get mad at me if you get tired of it!

3 comments

    • Seer McRicketts-McGee

      It turned out well, didn’t it? I’m happy with it. It’s now on its tour of All the Places It’s Been While I’ve Been Making It. I’m happy with it, but it is dead to me. I’m so sick of this fucking blanket I can’t even tell you! So many hours spent on it. So many months. So tired of this fucking thing. So glad it is finally OVER.

  1. Pingback: Here’s what I’m currently knitting: Saxon braid | Occipital Hazard

Leave a Reply

