Here’s what I’m currently knitting: Saxon braid

I’m currently knitting cables. I like cables. They add visual and textual interest without color changes. I’m not the biggest fan of color changes. Some people love them. La-de-da for you, motherfuckers. I prefer twisted stitches and cables and lace. I like texture. It’s like having nuts and chocolate chunks in your ice cream.

saxon braid scarf up close

That's a Saxon braid, that is.

I follow the pattern except I don’t really care if my crosses are right or left, so the cables are kind of haphazard when they go over and under. I could give a rat’s ass. It’s fine to me.

If you want a chart for a Saxon Braid, there’s one here, at Knitty. The designer went to the trouble to write it out, too. Please Seer, can I have some more?

I used to use the little U-shaped cable needles, but I’m currently using the wooden straight kind (pictured below) and loving it. Highly recommended. It’s a little bigger than my gauge 6 needles, but it still sticks in the stitches and doesn’t stretch them like you’d think it would.

cable needle

New favorite cable needle

I’m about a third through. Oh, and I put a seed stitch border on the edges to keep it from curling. Four stitches deep. It’ll pull in; of course it will, it’s a fucking cable. That’s what they do. You’re pulling the stitches in over each other.

And it’s gray. Gray is my favorite color and my neutral. It’s some yarn from KnitPicks, but it’s decent enough. It’s got a nice hand, and I’m rather enjoying it after all that acrylic I had to deal with for the Spiderman drama.

All in all, happy with it. I have big plans for it.

That’s my story about my scarf.

THE END, by Seer

saxon braid scarf

Here's as far as I've gotten on the scarf. Maybe two feet. Yarn winder in foreground, ancient laptop (six years of service) serving as platform for scarf.

3 comments

    • Seer McRicketts-McGee

      Barbara Walker’s third treasury decoded charts for me. I just didn’t get them until then. Basically, you read it right to left, then left to right. If you go to the Knitty link, you can see the chart and instructions, and compare them to see what they mean. It isn’t difficult, it just seems that way.

      For a cable, you put some stitches on another needle and work them later. You either put them behind the knitting while you work the other stitches or in front. That’s what the little crosses mean: do the stitches get put behind or in front, and how many go on the cable needle? If they’re darkened, it’s purl stitches on the cable needle.

      Hope that helps,

      Seer

  1. Pingback: Another scarf bites the dust | Occipital Hazard

Leave a Reply

