Mmm, delicious, simple pesto

I love pesto. It’s summertime food to me, but in my family we freeze it to eat all year long. Simple to make, delicious to eat. I made some tonight, and documented it for the world to see. I’m not ashamed of my pesto recipe!

pesto ingredients

Olive oil, Parmesan, garlic and pine nuts.

There are only five ingredients in my pesto, in this order: Parmesan cheese, garlic, pine nuts, basil and olive oil. That’s it. I don’t use spinach or walnuts. I don’t step on my pesto. I use only the good shit, only the shit that contributes high-octane flavor. I also only use high-quality olive oil, because I only use a little. I like really thick pesto. Make it runny if you like, but I don’t. I like it pasty. That’s how I roll. So if you want it runny, know that you’ll need to adjust this recipe. Probably use less cheese, more oil. I’m not judging, just saying. You do what you feel.

Seer’s Pesto

  • 1/2 pound Parmesan Cheese
  • 4 large cloves garlic
  • 4 ounces raw pine nuts
  • 2-1/2 cups basil, tightly packed (use more if you have it, that’s just what the three bunches I bought yielded)
  • approximately 2 tablespoons olive oil (I’m just guessing)
basil washing

Wash it well.

Wash the basil. I wash it three times. Remove the stems and buds. The stems don’t have any flavor and I think the stems and buds take away from the final consistency. Dry the leaves without bruising them as best as you can.

In a food processor (or blender; I get better results in a food processor), grind the cheese until it has the consistency of cornmeal. Add the garlic and the nuts and blend until it has the consistency of a paste. Add the leaves and blend (I add them all at once). Then drizzle in the oil until it has the final consistency you want, scraping down the sides several times.

pesto

Pesto!

You’re done. Washing the leaves and picking them off the stems is the longest part of the whole process.

My finished pesto is super thick. It makes stiff peaks. You may not like it that thick. Like I said, adjust your amounts of oil and cheese. Maybe fewer pine nuts, too. And more basil.

It’ll also be bright green, from the freshly broken chloroplasts. If you want yours to stay that way, pour a layer of olive oil over the top of it in the containers, to keep air from getting to it and oxidizing it.

pesto yield

This is how much pesto it makes. One and a half of these containers.

How much does my recipe yield? This time, enough to fill one and a half of these Food Hole take out containers. I don’t know if these are eight ounces or six. I think they’re eight, but I didn’t measure with water before I filled them up. Sorry.

Now go forth and make your own pesto! Really, it tastes so much better than the greezy sauce you get from the market. So much cleaner, brighter, and fresher tasting. It tastes like basil, instead of like oil. And I put so much cheese in mine I don’t need to cheese my pasta again.

Buon appetito!

Leave a Reply

