Nostalgia: soon, everyone will get my Master Control Program references

Master control programWhen I was little, this movie entranced and terrified me. It was so dark visually, like nothing I’d ever seen before. It was even hard for me to keep the people straight. They all kinda looked alike. I am not especially pleased with a new one coming out. Now that I mention it, I’m not pleased with all the movies of my childhood coming out again. All my deep cuts, like my Master Control Program references, available to the masses. See, I stopped paying attention to popular culture somewhere around 1995. That’s when my references end.

On to Tron!

Soon, though, I guess I’ll be hip without meaning to be. Hip and cheap. Swatches aren’t cheap anymore. Sparrow just bought one. I remember when I bought one for my brother for Christmas. It cost $35. I paid for it all in ones. When I apologized, the girl at Macy’s said, “Don’t trip,” and smiled. She was really pretty. Brown, with glossy lips. I wanted to look like her when I grew up. That was 1988, I think. I think I was eleven. Thirty-five dollars was hella skrilla. It was a really good present. I wrapped it in a giant box and taped it inside to the top in a smaller one, and put pencils in the bottom so it would make a weird noise when he shook it. I did it on my godmother’s suggestion. I miss her. She died in a single-car drunk driving accident with one of her sons. They went out for cigarettes and never came back. That was in 1997. A year before I stopped drinking. (Yes, everything I write on here is written sober.)

Enough reminiscing. It’s getting sad.

Leave a Reply

