I’m hooked on my newest rice recipe

seers rice seasonings1

Everything you need but the rice and water.

It’s so easy. And it’s so good with beans I’m almost choking I’m scarfing it down so fast. And there’s only six ingredients! Well, plus the rice. That’s seven. And water. That’s eight. It’s that the spices are already mixed up, so they double duty. I’m using lemon pepper these days, which is lemon rind, garlic, salt and pepper, all

seers rice seasonings

Amounts of seasonings.

in the same grinder. I also use Herbes de Provence, which are mixed up for me! Excellent and easy.

You can make it vegetarian or not. It depends on what kind of broth or bouillon you use. I’m not a vegetarian, so when I cook for myself I usually use chicken. I’ve got both chicken and vegetarian pictured, but you can choose–it’s chef’s choice. I think Better than Bouillon really is way

seers rice done

It's a very mild color of yellow. It's also salty, like I like it.

better tasting, and I never go through a whole tetra pack of stock, so that’s what I use.

I also cook my rice on the stove, rather than in a rice cooker, unless I’m cooking rice with absolutely nothing in it. This is my “plain” rice right now. I rarely make rice with nothing but water and salt. Cooking rice on the stove, I have no problems with it so long as the pot is preferably nonstick, has a tight-fitting lid, and the lid is glass so I can see what’s going on inside and make sure it’s not going to boil over. The stove also has to be able to turn way down.

Seer’s Simple Rice

Yield: three cups rice

  • 3 cups water (or broth)
  • 2 cups rice
  • 3 teaspoons bouillon (omit if using broth)
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed (or minced)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 teaspoon Herbes de Provence
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper

Put everything but the rice in a pot. Boil! Add the rice. Boil! Stir! Cover with a lid and turn the heat down to the lowest possible setting. Simmer for twenty minutes. Remove from heat but keep the lid on. Resist all temptation to remove the lid. Let it sit for ten minutes to meditate about ricey sorts of things. Throw out the bay leaf. You’ve no use for the bay leaf now! Bah! Fluff that shit with a fork and serve it up good.

With some red beans this is to die for.

You know what else would be good in this? Squeeze of lemon juice. Not too much, but a hefty squeeze might be nice.

If you want it to be more yellow, you could add a little turmeric or annatto or saffron. I don’t care if it’s pale or not.

Leave a Reply

